UltraRunning Online UltraRunning Online
Home Calendar Features Reference Training and Racing Medical and Nutrition
Find a Retailer The Magazine Subscribe Contact Columnists Site Search
 | UR News | Health & Nutrition | Spotlight Articles | Around the World | Photos | Profiles | Training & Racing |
UR News Home > Features > UR News > Mackey and Lapierre Win Waldo 100K

Mackey and Lapierre Win Waldo 100K

e-mail E-mail this page
print Printer-friendly page

Willamette Pass, Oregon, August 20. Dave Mackey and Aliza Lapierre were winners of the 10th annual Waldo 100K held in the Oregon Cascades, 70 miles east of Eugene. Mackey broke Erik Skaggs course record by four minutes in the process, while Lapierre was 10 minutes outside Joelle Vaught's women's record. Both winners grabbed the lead early and never relented. The race is the first of the 2011-12 Montrail Ultra Cup series.

1. Dave Mackey, 41, Novato, CA, 9:06:51 (course record, old record 9:11:05 by Erik Skaggs, 2009)
2. Ian Sharman, 30, Bend, OR, 9:42:51
3. Nicolas Triolo, 27, Portland, OR, 10:08:58
4. Chris Downey, 41, Burnaby, BC, 10:22:15
5. Yassine Diboun, 32, Portland, OR, 10:28:36

1. Aliza Lapierre, 31, Williston, VT, 10:33:24
2. Denise Bourassa, 41, Boise, ID, 10:59:43
3. Darla Askew, 38, Bend, OR, 11:11:07
4. Roxanne Woodhouse, 48, Weaverville, CA, 11:41:34
5. Wendy Wheeler-Jacobs, 43, Sammamish, WA, 12:49:44

Complete results available at http://www.ultralive.net/waldo/webcast.php

Photo at left: Dave Mackey en route to winning the 2008 Miwok 100K (photo courtesy of Jeff Vendsel, Marin IJ)